In The Que: "Culture 2" album review

Culture 2 album review

January 30, 2018

 The Atlanta-based rap trio Migos are back to dominate the charts again. They took over the world when they dropped their second studio album Culture, back in 2017. The album went platinum and was nominated for Best Rap Album at the Grammy Awards. Culture featured the hit singles Slippery, T-shirt and, their first number one Billboard Hot 100 single, Bad and Boujee. It's going to be very hard for them to top the Culture album. Let's see if they can do it with Culture 2.


Culture 2 is the third studio album released from Migos. The highly-anticipated album has 24 tracks with guest appearances from 21 Savage, Drake, Gucci Mane, Travis Scott, Ty Dolla Sign, Big Sean, Cardi B, Nicki Minaj, Post Malone and 2 Chainz. Here are some songs to check out. Narcos is the third song on the album produced by DJ Durel. There's a South American/ Reggae vibe to it, plus you got Quavo lacing the hook, so you know it's hot. Walk It Like I Talk It features Drake and has a couple of hot bars you might want to hear. Stir Fry is the second single off Culture 2. It's produced by the incredible Pharrell Williams of The Neptunes. Look for it in a club near you. Too Much Jewelry is super dope. It's a remake of the 2008 song Jewelry by Gucci Mane. I like how they did this, it was executed right. Zaytoven is the guy behind the keys on this one. The hit single Motorsport is also on the album. Motorsport was the first time the world heard Cardi B and Nicki Minaj on a song together. Check, there goes another hit single.


 Let's give credit to Metro Boomin, Quavo, DJ Durel, Buddha Bless, DA Honorable C.N.O.T.E, Kanye West, Huncho On The Beat, OG Parker, Zaytoven, Murda Beatz, Weezy, Ty Dolla $ign, Travis Scott, Pharrell, Earl, Cardo, Dun Deal, FKI, Cu Beatz, Cassius J, Ricky Racks, Figure Made It and 808 Godz for production on the 24 track album. I don't think it's hotter than the original Culture album, but it's pretty dope. I give Culture 2 3.5 flames. 

The tracklist is below.

1. "Higher We Go" (Prod. by Metro Boomin and Quavo)
2. "Supastars" (Prod. by DJ Durel, Buddha Bless, DA Honorable C.N.O.T.E and Quavo)
3. "Narcos" (Prod. by DJ Durel and Quavo)
4. "BBO (Bad Bitches Only)" Feat. 21 Savage (prod. by DJ Durel, Kanye West, Buddha Bless and Quavo)
5. "Auto Pilot (Huncho On The Beat)" (Prod. by DJ Durel and Quavo)
6." Walk It Talk It" (prod. by OG Parker)
7. "Emoji A Chain" (Prod. by Metro Boomin)
8. "CC" Feat. Gucci Mane (Prod. by DJ Durel and Quavo)
9. "Stir Fry" (Prod. by Pharrell)
10. "Too Much Jewelry" (prod. by Zaytoven)
11. "Gang Gang" (prod. by Murda Beatz)
12. "White Sand" Feat. Ty Dolla Sign, Travis Scott and Big Sean (prod. by Ty Dolla $ign, DJ Durel, Travis Scott, Weezy and Quavo)
13. "Crown the Kings" (Prod. by DJ Durel and Quavo)
14. "Flood" (prod. by DJ Durel & Earl)
15. "Beast" (prod. by Murda Beatz)
16. "Open It Up" (Prod. by Cardo)
17. "Motorsport" Feat. Nicki Minaj & Cardi  (Prod. by Cu Beatz and Murda Beatz)
18. "Movin Too Fast" (prod. by Quavo)
19. "Work Hard" (prod. by DJ Durel, Quavo and Dun Deal)
20. "Notice Me" Feat. Post Malone (prod. by FKI)
21. "Too Playa" Feat. 2 Chainz (Prod. by DJ Durel and Quavo)
22. "Made Men" (prod. by Cassius J)
23. "Top Down On Da NAWF" (prod. by Ricky Racks)
24. "Culture National Anthem" (prod. by Figure Made It and 808 Godz)