In The Que: CyHi The Prynce's "No Dope On Sundays" album review

Que Sparks album review

November 22, 2017

Release date: November 17, 2017

CyHi The Prynce is like a time machine. Everytime I hear his music, it takes me back in time to when hip-hop, was really hip-hop. Everyday our ears are getting damaged by what I feel is garbage music. Ours ears deserve better! Look no further, CyHi The Prynce is here to save us.

 I have been rocking with CyHi The Prynce since he put out Ivy League Club, and not once, has he let me down. On November 17, 2017 Cydel Young, better known as CyHi The Prynce, released his debut studio album No Dope On Sundays. I know this album is going to get slept on, but in my book it’s one of the top 10 albums of the year, and probably the last hot album of the year. The introduction song Amen is like an album in itself. Once it starts playing you should already know you made the right decision. Track number two titled No Dope On Sundays features CyHi's label mate Pusha T. The message in this song is no selling dope on Sundays! He even mentioned turning Sundays into a laundry day. I like the message he is sending out. The album's first single is titled Movin Around, featuring ScHool Boy Q. It's a street song with lyrical bars. If you haven't realized CyHi is a genius with these words by now, your ears are not working. The song Trick Me, a collaboration with artist 2 chainz, is still growing on me, but it's far from wack. Let's fast forward to the song Don't Know Why featuring Jagged Edge. This song is full of content, something we don't hear that often these days. While asking the question why are so many of the youth are dying, you can also hear the difference between a rapper and an artist. CyHi should never be labeled as a rapper. Him and Kanye West linked up for the second single titled Dat Side. CyHi has been signed to Kanye's record label G.O.O.D Music since 2010. Look for Dat Side to get a few spins on your local radio station. Production credit for No Dope On Sundays goes to Kanye West, Anthony Kilhoffer, Brandon Black, Charlie Heat, David & Eli, Edsclusive, Epikh Pro, Fr23sh, Free P, HighDefRazjah, Jaggerwerks, Josh Simons, Katherine Mills, Lex Luger, Mark Byrd, Nate & Charity, Novel, OZ, S1, Shawty Redd, Syk Sense, ThankGod4Cody, The Olympicks and Young Love. The guest appearances are Kanye West, Pusha T, ScHool Boy Q, Travis Scott, 2 Chainz, Jagged Edge, BJ the Chicago Kid and Ernestine Johnson.

What have I learned? I learned that this guy is extremely slept on, he never runs out of bars, and sometimes you got to let certain people win the fight, so they want come back and shoot you.

This album should definitely go down as a classic. Everytime he spit I can hear artists like Pimp C, Andre 3000, Bun B and more legends in his DNA. 

I give No Dope On Sundays 4.5 flames. The tracklist is below.

1. “Amen (Intro)”

2. “No Dope on Sundays” Feat. Pusha T

3. “Get Yo Money”

4. “Movin’ Around” Feat. ScHoolboy Q

5. “Trick Me” Feat. 2 Chainz

6. “Murda” feat. Estelle

7. “Don’t Know Why” Feat. Jagged Edge

8. “God Bless Your Heart”

9. “Dat Side” Feat. Kanye West

10. “Looking for Love”

11. “Nu Africa (Extended Version)” Feat. Ernestine Johnson

12. “Free”

13. “80’s Baby” Feat. BJ the Chicago Kid

14. “Closer”

15. “I’m Fine” Feat. Travis Scott