In The Que: Yo Gotti's "I Still Am" album review

"I Still Am" album review

November 13, 2017

Release date: October 27, 2017

In the hip-hop world, you can't mention Memphis without mentioning Yo Gotti. Whether it's beef with Young Dolph, or climbing the charts, his name is always in someone's mouth. Yo Gotti is one of the few rappers, I know, that can disappear for a while and still stay relevant. The streets love this guy.

Yo Gotti's ninth studio album, "I Still Am", was released on October 27, 2017. It's the first album he has released while being signed to Roc Nation. It features the chart topping hit single "Rake It Up". This song made it's way to number eight on the Billboard Hot 100. That's the most successful single Yo Gotti has ever recorded. "I Still Am" also features hits like "Juice", "Oh Yeah", "Brown Bag" and "Save It For Me". The ladies should really like the "Save It For Me" track featuring Chris Brown. He described how he really gave Anglea Simmons his number, and he thought he had her; however, she ended up getting married. "Oh Yeah" is the song that should surely get all the booties on the dance floor. If a girl can't move to that song, she need to sit down. Also, If you listen to "2908" Yo Gotti will take you back to his hood called "The Crest" and tell you how they use to trap on the green box, by the laundromat. He also spoke on catching his first charge, which was attempted murder and kidnapping. 

Most of the songs are nothing unusual for Yo Gotti. Nothing really stood out, or really felt special. I've learned a couple of things about Yo Gotti from this album though. I've learned he really had a crush on Angela Simmons, he don't like drinking lean, and trust no one, because they are ruthless in Memphis.

The production really wasn't nothing to brag about, but give credit to 30 Roc, Ayo, Ben Billions, Drumma Boy, Keyz, Hitmaka, Mike Will Made It, Murda Beatz, Southside, Rasool Diaz, London on da Track, and Zaytoven. The guest appearances were Nicki Minaj, Chris Brown, YFN Lucci, Meek Mills, French Montana and 21 Savage.

"I Still Am" is far from being Yo Gotti's hottest album. It's not wack, but it just sounds like a typical Yo Gotti album, I do not  hear any growth.

I give "I Still Am" 2 flames. The tracklist is below.

1. Betrayal

2. Back Gate

3. Brown Bag

4. Rake It Up f. Nicki Minaj

5. Juice

6. Different

7. Save It For Me f. Chris Brown

8. 2809

9. One On One f. YFN Lucci & Meek Mill

10. Oh Yeah f. French Montana

11. Yellow Tape f. 21 Savage

12. Don’t Wanna Go Back

13. Around The World